Sarbanes Statement on House Committee Action to Advance the Chesapeake Bay Program Reauthorization Act

Chesapeake Bay Watershed Task Force Co-Chair Rep. John Sarbanes (D-Md.) issued the following statement today after the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee successfully advanced the Chesapeake Bay Program Reauthorization Act (H.R. 1620), a bipartisan bill that would increase investments in the successful Chesapeake Bay Program for the next five years:

“I applaud Chairman DeFazio and my colleagues on both sides of the aisle for taking an important step forward in our effort to strengthen the Chesapeake Bay Program. This critical federal funding will help states across the Chesapeake Bay Watershed, including Maryland, improve the long-term health of the Bay. To date, the Chesapeake Bay Program has made tremendous progress in our decades-long fight to reduce pollution and improve water quality throughout the Watershed. We must continue to support this vital restoration and conservation program so that our children and grandchildren can enjoy the Bay for years to come.”

In March, Congressman Sarbanes led the bipartisan, bicameral introduction of the Chesapeake Bay Program Reauthorization Act.