Sarbanes, Scott, Wittman Introduce Bipartisan Bill to Boost Resources for Chesapeake Bay Conservation

Today, Chesapeake Bay Watershed Task Force Co-Chairs Reps. John Sarbanes (D-Md.), Bobby Scott (D-Va.) and Rob Wittman (R-Va.) introduced the Chesapeake Watershed Investments for Landscape Defense (Chesapeake WILD) Act, a bipartisan bill to provide more resources for Chesapeake Bay conservation efforts.

The Chesapeake WILD Act will create a new grant program to help local entities work on the ground to restore and protect fish and wildlife habitats throughout the Bay Watershed.

“This bipartisan bill will energize conservation efforts across the Chesapeake Bay Watershed,” said Congressman Sarbanes. “By equipping our local partners with the resources they need to improve water quality, boost restoration projects and rehabilitate wildlife habitats, we can significantly improve the long-term health of the Bay.”

“The Chesapeake Bay is one of America's greatest treasures and restoring the watershed is vitally important,” said Congressman Scott. “The Chesapeake WILD Act will establish a new grant program that will help clean up the Bay, enhance fish and wildlife habitats, mitigate flooding and increase recreational opportunities throughout the watershed. I am proud to see bipartisan support for this bill, and I look forward to securing its passage.”

“As a former state health official who conducted field research in the Chesapeake Bay, I am aware of the ecological challenges facing Virginia waters, wetlands and refuges,” said Congressman Wittman. “This grant program is critical not only to continuing to clean up the Bay, but to restoring and protecting fish and wildlife habitats and ensuring the economic vitality of our region will be enjoyed for generations to come.”

Cosponsors of the Chesapeake WILD Act include Reps. Don Beyer (D-Va.), Matt Cartwright (D-Penn.), Gerry Connolly (D-Va.), Brian Fitzpatrick (R-Penn.), Alcee Hastings (D-Fla.), Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-D.C.), Steny Hoyer (D-Md.), Elaine Luria (D-Va.), Jamie Raskin (D-Md.), Denver Riggleman (R-Va.), David Trone (D-Md.) and Jennifer Wexton (D-Va.).

The Senate companion of the Chesapeake WILD Act was introduced by Senators Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.) and Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.)