Sarbanes, Maryland Congressional Delegation Announce Nearly $14 Million for Statewide Bus System Improvements

Congressman John Sarbanes (D-Md.) today joined Senators Ben Cardin and Chris Van Hollen, along with Congressmen Steny Hoyer, Dutch Ruppersberger, Anthony G. Brown, Jamie Raskin and David Trone to announce $13,866,000 in federal funding for the improvement and modernization of bus systems throughout Maryland.

The grant comes from the United States Department of Transportation (DOT) Grants for Buses and Bus Facilities Program. It will support the replacement, rehabilitation, purchase or lease of buses, related equipment and/or facilities. Bus systems in Baltimore County, the Eastern Shore, Delmarva, St. Mary’s County and the Greater Washington Region (WMATA) will benefit from these awards.

“Maintaining safe and reliable bus systems are a critical resource for communities across Maryland,” said the lawmakers. “Buses connect commuters and visitors with other transit hubs and often are the most affordable method for students to get to school, for employees to get to work and for residents to access essential community services. These significant resources will go a long way toward improving the quality of life for thousands of Marylanders.”

For more information about DOT’s Grants for Buses and Bus Facilities Program, see here.

Additional grants for Maryland announced on Thursday include:

  • $1,651,720 for Baltimore County/Towson Circulator
  • $850,000 for the Shore Transit Project (Tri-County Council)/Eastern Shore)
  • $76,500 for St. Mary’s Transit System Project/St. Mary’s County
  • $11,040,000 for Metrobus/Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA)
  • $248,000 for Delmarva Community Services Project/Delmarva